This recipe is a play on meatball subs.

Baked Italian Meatball Casserole

Start with these:

image

Then flavor it up…

image

Preheat oven & start your layers…

image

Bake, serve & enjoy!

image

This was my first attempt at this Pinterest recipe. Although it does look really appetizing, there are a couple of changes I would make next time. First off, I would not recommend using frozen garlic bread because it gets way too mushy too quickly once the sauce goes on. Also the pre-sliced bread (like the one I used) doesn’t help with the sogginess either. Either way, I’d use 2 half loaves of (fresh) bread as my base for the dish.

The other aspect I would change are the meatballs. Instead of using the frozen & pre-seasoned ones, I’d spend the extra few bucks and either make them or buy them fresh from the deli. I’ve tried the frozen meatballs so many times, even the turkey ones, and they just always taste too dry with some added grit to them, yuck!

Either way, give it a try yourself and see what creative casserole you come up with and share 🙂

A full shopping list of all ingreients can be found here

Original recipe can be found here

